Finally got the tiniest bit situated in Oslo. And by situated, I mean deathly bored. So, I spent this morning photographing some various sketches.  These were all done in pen only, still experimenting with my ability to observe (and not swear when I @&^* up).

These first are from a live drawing session in Toledo, at the Drink and Draw at the Art Depo downtown (which, I recommend highly. Both the store and the event!)

DSC_1123 DSC_1124 DSC_1126 DSC_1125

 

Then, some done from life at a drawing workshop here in Oslo.

DSC_1131 DSC_1134 DSC_1132 DSC_1135

 

Then, some studies from my marvelous planar head, which has been helping me in so many subconscious ways.

DSC_1127 DSC_1128 DSC_1129

 

This is a demo I did of myself for my Cartooning class back at Ichen Academy in Fremont, CA. I was going to throw it away when Martin and I moved to Norway from SF, but he got really mad at me and wouldn’t let me :(. As hard as it is to be disconnected from your work sometimes, it can also be hard to understand the value of a piece as well (especially one done in like, 10 minutes as this was!)

DSC_1130

 

Lastly, Martin is teaching online for the AAU, and I haven’t been able to see much of him since I arrive in Oslo about a week ago. He goes to work all morning, then comes home and works with his online students. He is so dedicated! And I am so bored. So, we compromised (and, by compromise I mean he had no choice) and I drew him while he talked with his students.  You can tell I am dying for entertainment simply because I drew an ENVIRONMENT. Just go back and look at ALL my sketches, ever, and give me  a quick percentage of how much I do that. I’ll give you a hint. It’s probably less than 1%.

DSC_1122

 

Ciao for now!

